Skip navigation

I’m proud, too

(No, not of my negligence when it comes to blogging this semester.)

The New York Times reports John McCain as saying, “This is a historic election, and I recognize the significance it has for African-Americans and for the special pride that must be theirs tonight.” (Obama Elected President as Racial Barrier Falls)

I’m not African-American.  (In my opinion, neither is Barack Obama, whose parents were not African-American, but that’s a topic for another post, I suppose.)  But I too am proud of my country for the significance of last night’s election.  Now, race is no longer an obstacle to the highest office in the land.  Now, African-Americans are saying “my child can grow up to be president.”  (I can’t help wondering how many people, of any race, were inspired to think that way by the Bush dynasty!)  You don’t have to be a minority to appreciate that.

Perhaps the significance and meaning of this historic election is greater for African-Americans than for other ethnicities, especially Caucasians.  I don’t want to presume to understand what it’s like to live the persecution that these people suffered (or the ensuing vindication of last night’s victory) when I haven’t experienced it.  But I can say that I too am glad that the last doors to achievement are now opened to African-Americans, that their children (and others’) will have one less reason not to dream big, and that we the electorate proved that we don’t mind putting our trust and confidence in someone whose skin happens to be a little darker than most of ours.

Opinions expressed in this post are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of Vermont Law School.

One Comment

  1. ttoles
    Posted November 19, 2008 at 7:13 am | Permalink

    Sally, The tone of your blog “I’m proud, too” seems to be a bit defensive. I’m curious as to how you have been offended, either by the media coverage of the African-American communities’ response to Obama’s victory or its projected meaning to the same. I may be misreading your blog, although I have read it at least twice in the space of two days, but there seems to be some larger context, or sub text missing here.

    sincerely,

    TDT


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
