Skip navigation

2.5

I am law student 2.5.  I live on the edge of the future, rushing deeply into every day coursework, classes, and tradition because it is the end of this thing and the start of another–life.  Good bye Wynterfoest games, hello bar exam application!  This semester, I am taking a mixed bag of courses and practicum.  In addition to class room hours I work in the Environmental and Natural Resources Clinic (ENRLC) as a part time student clinician.

The law school heralds two distinguished clinics where students have the opportunity to get their hands dirty, ask questions, and get feedback from practitioner/teachers.  The South Royalton Legal Clinic (SRLC) and ENRLC function together as the logical extension of the law school’s mission– law for the community and the world.  The  SRLC embodies the spirit and practice of community based law, whereas the ENRLC deals in the lofty goals of  clean air,  water, and conservation.  Both serve clients from the surrounding area, and strive to improve the body of law whilst improving the quality of student life through works and experience.

I am excited about the opportunity to do clinical work at the end of third year. My brain is aloft with personal questions, free floating anxiety, and “what if …”scenarios. The real world responsibilities of clients, ongoing ethical obligations, and team work are a pungent cure for self indulgent speculation and senioritus. One month into the clinic, I have found myself with a handful of projects and waning hours in which to manage them. Amen!!

The 3L countdown has yet to begin and already we have danced at our last Barrister’s Ball/Law Prom, rallied for a class gift, and been tapped to raise funds for it. The calendar on the desk has morphed into a mass of sticky notes pointing to a larger trail of lined sticky papers with dates, days, and times for applications, exams, and test preparation strategy sessions.

Life is now a deluge of decisions. Make them. I am flanked by questions– it’s rock, paper, or scissors time. Which bar prep course makes the most sense for state X? Do I need to take the character and fitness test now, later, never? Should I study for the bar in SoRo, or back home? Nostalgia creeps in, making it all seem so much easier in year one, undergrad, kindergarten. It was, and no one can make these decisions for me.

I am a tug of war. The unending questions of this last semester, of the last year, pull at the threads of my identity. Finding a new home is about more than settling on a location. My future life as a lawyer, politician, or juggling academic comes at the cost of my youth, childhood, and student life. The unknown can be debilitating.   I am at once ecstatic, curious, and amazed at the potential of it all.

I am law student 2.5.  I live on the edge of the future, rushing deeply into every day coursework, classes, and tradition because it is the end of this thing and the start of another–life.

TDT

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
