Skip navigation

OK – I just found this in one of my folders on my desktop and I thought I’d share.  I cannot believe that I actually submitted this to law schools – but I did and now I can look back and laugh.  Below is my personal statement – the only document you will need to read to understood (or perhaps misunderstand) my quirky, dorky (cannot think of another rky word) personality.  Enjoy!

***

I definitely should have played a smaller instrument-like a flute, a piccolo or, even better, a harmonica. The smaller the better at this point is what I grumble to myself as my shoulder begins to go numb and my heart continues pounding as I climb what seems to be the stairway to heaven. It is times like these that make me wish I could go back to that infamous moment in the third grade when I decided my fate, and, instead of picking what I thought was the “cool” instrument, I should have thought of my choice more practically. As I stood there nervously in front of the band director as he impatiently awaited my decision, a montage should have conveniently appeared to me-images of me carrying this heavy instrument up endless flights of stairs, steep hills and maybe even a few mountains. With those images in mind, I would have come to my senses and said confidently to the band director “I want an instrument that is lightweight and fits conveniently into a book bag, purse or overhead compartment.” Alas, my choice was based on more frivolous standards, and I chose the alto saxophone because of its stylish looks and how surprisingly cool I thought it would sound to say “Yeah, I play the sax.”

Why at the age of seven I made the decision to play in the band is beyond my recollection. Following my parent’s example, I should have devoted my time to writing poetry or riding a skateboard down massive hills into traffic (way to go, Mom). No one else in my family really plays a musical instrument, which is why I never understood the piano that monopolized the space in my grandparent’s living room or the dusty guitar that was nestled in the corner of my sister’s bedroom. In fact, the best display of musical talent I have heard is my father’s one-fingered rendition of Danny Boy on my old keyboard. Even though choosing to play the saxophone may have forever put me in the social category of “band geek,” I have never regretted my decision and, in fact, I have come to embrace the title. Playing the saxophone and being a member of musical ensembles throughout elementary school, high school and college has brought me great friends, unforgettable experiences and taught me valuable lessons about hard work and dedication. Choosing to play the saxophone has surely influenced my life in more ways than I will ever know and since I like to take the road less traveled, going to law school would coincide with my tradition of non-traditionalism.

As I am writing I suddenly hear a familiar tune and then the voices of Tevye and the people of Anatevka proclaiming the importance of tradition. My family has long been devoted to the medical field contributing nurses, pharmacists, physician assistants, dieticians and medical technologists; therefore, I would be the first to go to law school. Even though I may be diverging from my family’s traditional career track, I will take along their values of commitment and service. Through my experiences in classes and in the community, I have seen that service is the ultimate vehicle for learning. In the same way that learning will be an ongoing process in my life, community service will also be an important and enduring aspect of my life because I see it as an opportunity to have a real and immediate impact on my community. Through my legal education I hope to find new ways to serve and perhaps have a greater impact.

I want to practice law because of its uniquely ubiquitous presence and influence on society. The opportunity to learn more about the law and its endless possibilities is exciting, and I know that through this knowledge my passion and commitment to public service will only grow. I’m ready to move on to new challenges and experiences, and, after carrying my heavy saxophone around for almost fourteen years, I think that my training will prove useful as I trade that beloved instrument for a bundle of heavy law books.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
