Skip navigation

Cementing school strategies

When classes first began all of the recommended study methods were swimming through my head.  Be sure to brief every case, bring notes to class, try to answer every question.  The many preparation books all espoused their own fool proof strategies for success as well.  In my view, this cacophony of advice only added to the stress of starting something new in a new place with new people.  After four full weeks of school it is clear that everyone does things differently.  Many people have lengthy word documents pre-prepared for class.  Others simply have typed briefs to which they might add.  One fellow student even invested in those fancy amazon pdf readers that looks and feels like a legal pad, but allows you to download files and read them in a page flipping format.  It’s a pretty cool little device actually.  Nonetheless I have hardly deviated from my time tested method in undergrad.  I write in the books, most of which I plan to keep anyways, and I take notes in class on actual paper with a bonafide pen – well most of them are bonifide, I could swear some are impostors since they go dry every few words.  This rustic seeming method has not deprived me of any comprehension to my notice.  I have never felt under-prepared for class.  I have never absolutely failed when called on by the professor.  I haven’t suffered the slightest bit of confusion in having, what some would call, a mixed up bunch of chicken scratch to refer to in my notebooks. I have often been jealous of some of the advanced note-taking applications some people use and their proficiency in Word, but I am not so computer friendly as to want to spend hours learning the nuances of an application.

In undergrad I spent numerous hours working with Flash and Final Cut in some art classes and that left me with a vague aversion to navigating the complex processes of advanced applications.  Though my schoolwork and understanding have not been compromised I am planning on getting to know some of the basic apps a bit better.  But, as I learned in undergrad, this will take time, effort, and headaches.

Returning to the my main point.  People study and learn in very different ways.  Though I initially felt that my study patterns were deficient I have not suffered from any lack of understanding or comprehension.  If this has been confusing I can hopefully clear it up in later blogs.  For now, I am off to find “the narrows” and then help pack up some used law books to send to underprivileged law schools in Africa.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
