Skip navigation

Briefs and Arguments

The first semester of the 2L year is dominated by Appellate Advocacy.  The work for Appellate is very time-consuming during September and October.  I handed in my Appellate brief a little over a week ago, and I have my conference to discuss it tomorrow afternoon.  I really enjoy getting the chance to sit down with the professor one-on-one to discuss my writing and how I can improve it.  The half hour conferences can me more valuable that a whole semester of class because they are personalized.  A week after my conference I have my practice oral argument, followed by the due date of the final draft of my brief, and my final oral argument.  Although I used to do a lot of public speaking in high school and college, oral arguments are a whole different story.  Being interrupted with questions during a speech is challenging.  You have to make sure you answer the question, don’t become frustrated at the interruptions, and get back to your argument with a smooth transition.  Luckily, we have the chance to do at least two practice oral arguments that will be critiqued.  Although it will be a busy few weeks, everything is spaced out well enough that with good time management skills, I can prepare for Appellate and keep up with my other courses.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
