Skip navigation

Note to Self: When an exam is open book remember to bring your book

Today I took my first law school exam. It was for civil procedure, my most challenging class. I spent all weekend long preparing and working on my outline. For whatever reason I had it in my head that we could not use our book for the exam. To my surprise I showed up to class today and saw that everyone had their books with them. I of course did not have my book even though that little voice in my head told me I should before I left my apartment. With five minutes to spare I made a mad dash through campus and down S. Windsor to my apartment taking out those in my way. I made it back to the classroom just in time to begin. I took a few moments to collect myself, stop shaking from the adrenaline rush, and take a deep breath. I settled myself down enough to work through my exam. I should have known that this was going to be a difficult week when I locked myself out of my apartment on Sunday. I have come to realize over the course of my life that I tend to make things more difficult for myself. I have decided to look at this in a positive light and have a sense of humor about it. Instead of freaking out and crying over these miss steps I laugh it off and call friends and family to laugh along with me. In the end I have learned a couple valuable lessons: always have an extra key to your apartment and most importantly:  if an exam is open book, do not forget to bring your book!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
