Skip navigation

Where Has the Semester Gone?

It’s hard to believe that it is the middle of November already and Thanksgiving is nearly a week away. Today is the start of week 12 of 15. The apprehension of final exams are looming around campus. Excitement over Thanksgiving break is getting me through. I cannot wait to go home and relax around the dinner table with my family. It will be nice to take my mind off outlining and exams for a couple of days. As the semester is winding down things have been getting harder and more emotional but it’s the good days that get me through.

Last week I experienced the 2L Appellate Advocacy oral arguments. I volunteered to be a bailiff so I could see what I am in store for next year. It was a little nerve wrecking at first because I had to set up the room properly and set the tone for the “court.” The students that were arguing were nervous enough and I did not want to add any apprehension. After I got past my initial nerves I found the experience to be a lot of fun. I was able to talk with the professor and the judges. I am glad that I volunteered because now I know what to expect next year. The students were nice enough to let me stay and listen to the judge’s critiques of their arguments. The critiques were very insightful. I took note of the certain things that they criticized the students for. This will be extremely helpful to me next year when I have to face the judges myself. I highly recommend the experience to future 1Ls.

As of tomorrow I will officially be done with Legal Writing I! It will be nice to have some extra time to do more work. It is scary that I am happy to have more time to do work instead of just having free time. I never thought I would look forward to do more work. On that note I have to get to bed so I can get up early to read……..

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
