Skip navigation

GWF seeks VLS mentor

“Perhaps all the dragons in our lives are princesses who are only waiting to see us act, just once, with beauty and courage. Perhaps everything that frightens us is, in its deepest essence, something helpless that wants our love.”

Will you be the Rilke to my Kappus?

I am a 1L seeking someone wiser than myself who knows a lot about what I want to learn: progressive lawyering.  Can I pick your brain over coffee? Can I ask you questions about your career?  And perhaps after a few drinks, can I ask you how you survived law school?

A bit about myself: I am a young woman seeking community and inspiration.  I found a community here in brewing, neighbors, and other similarly-situated law students.  I find inspiration in the hope that comes with thinking and talking about what we can actually do with the skills, minds, and passion we have.  But, as one will find, there is less room than expected to talk about social justice and the law in law school (except with other law students that have yet to practice with a JD), and even less time than that to act on it (daily grind).  Most of the time, I have my head in a book, or spending a great deal of time and energy dealing with the dragons that have sprung up along with pursuing a JD.

I retreat to myself, to my wells of inspiration, to remember why I came here, and what I want to do.  But the wells seem to be running dry lately, I come to them too much.  Its only because I am thirsty, trying times will lead to a parched throat.  Do not think I wait idly for the things I need, because I have been searching.  I am not in a desert! I came here because I believed it to be wealthy with rebellious lawyers, those who saw beyond the firm job.  I know they are here.  Are you one of them?

If so, lets meet and talk.  I would like to get to know you.  I promise it won’t be a one way relationship, with you having to take a lot of time out of your schedule to listen to me reckon with this profession.  I want to hear you,  one who has been there, and who has gone somewhere akin to where I want to go. I want to be your friend,  I will cook for you, listen to you, be there when you need it, and leave you alone when you need it.  After all, a relationship with a mentor needs to be mutually supportive if it is to have any meaning or purpose.

I guess this is an odd way of going about this, using technology to find a mentor when I should go about it the old-fashioned way.  Don’t worry, I will continue looking.  Only now, with urgency.

“I wish that you may find in yourself enough patience to endure and enough simplicity to have faith; that you may gain more and more confidence in what is difficult and in your solitude among other people. And as for the rest, let life happen to you. Believe me: life is in the right, always.”

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
