Skip navigation

In a name.

I write as an alumna of Vermont Law School.  One year after commencement,  I wade in the energy, reputation and opinion of a institution I know intimately.  I am not some voice from an ivory tower or an aggregator, distilling memes for profit.  I write with the bias of insight, the grit of experience and the heart of one who serves.

The trajectory of my professional life is affected by the altitude of reputation, the airspeed of  deep instruction and the angle of my own ambition.  The time is now. One year into the post- graduate working world and I am painfully aware of the realities of a tight market, slashed budgets and reduced hiring plans.  Specialization provides an air of protection, a slight buffer from the crisis of the employers market.  Where VLSers go we have a good name and cache because of hard work, but more importantly because we believe in the big picture,  in creative solutions and are backed by a more moral set of metrics than is usually applied to the profession.

As an alumna, I carry the weight of tradition wherever I go.  I open doors for classes to come and travel to my ultimate destination on the backs of alumnus who do the same for me.  Vermont Winters make you brave, the syrup keeps you sweet and the classes build your expertise.  It’s all in the name.

TDT

2 Comments

  1. ericaut
    Posted June 12, 2010 at 3:11 am | Permalink

    T-
    poetic postings. my favorites of the bunch.

    I am contemplating env law school. Envisioning having the most effect to change the world with the tools of law. Is it so?

    E

    • ttoles
      Posted September 8, 2010 at 12:35 am | Permalink

      Thanks for your kind words. The law is a tool and is only as useful as the person wielding it. I know many good intentioned lawyers who do nothing more than push paper and some who would change the world no matter what they did as a vocation. From my experience I can say that the law is not a cure and approaching to that way leads to a world of hurt and a mountain of emotional , egotistical and spiritual debt to all the things you think you should be. So spend alot of time getting to know who you are because law school can not impart any thing other than a way of seeing the world. Environmental law curriculum gives you a more comprehensive view of the regulatory frameworks of the body of enviro law and cases, which you can get elsewhere but not nearly in such depth and breadth.

      My favorite pre law book is Law School Confidential, apart from the snobbery in the first chapter its pretty reliable on the standard of law school operations. I hope that answer helps.

      kind regards,

      TDT


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
