Skip navigation

Whew, I survived my first week in Law School!

And, you know what, it wasn’t that bad. 🙂

Just as a caveat: I’m honored to get to be writing on the JD Student Blog site because I read the VLS JD Student blogs before I even knew I was going to choose VLS. I really appreciated getting to see the world through the students who were living the 1L experience. I hope that I can give the same insight to the future students who are trying to decide which school to choose, or to get a better idea of what it’s like to be a 1L.

My week flew by! It started with Contracts. Before I came to law school, I thought I was going to have to suffer through all these boring classes like Contracts and Torts. I want to work in Environmental Law, which is why I’m a dual JD/MELP, so I didn’t really want to have to take classes outside Environmental Law. But, to my surprise, the cases that we read and the way that we learn in class makes this seemingly boring material come alive.

After Contracts I went to my torts class. Which is awesome. My professor is so cute. She acts out the torts when she is giving us hypothetical situations to think about. My classmates are awesome. Most of us have exactly the same schedule as each other, which makes group study really useful since we are all building on the same material in the same way at the same time.

My least favorite class so far is Civil Procedure, but I think that it has potential. We started the week off with a very difficult case, but I have heard that other sections are easing in to the material. I can say that I’m thankful that we dove right in instead of gradually building up because now we are thinking more critically, we are more used to the case material, and we are being challenged. I like being challenged. Why would I pay so much money for this to be easy?

The biggest class I’m in is 80 people for Constitutional Law. The professor is new, but she is really, REALLY smart. She is giving the class lots of historical context and background, which makes the ancient text and cases so much easier to understand. Con Law has a huge reading load; but, I feel like I eat it up because it’s so important to the founding of our country, and the whole US legal system.

The best part of all the classes is seeing how, even though they may have different subject material, they are basically all the same. I know that once I get the hang of briefing cases and doing my homework efficiently I will be able to use one set of skills and generic legal knowledge to do well in all my classes.

I am so happy to be here in Vermont and out of the Midwest. I absolutely love the people here. I am so relieved that there aren’t a lot of mean people here who are making me feel stupid or inadequate. There are people here with so many different backgrounds and views/opinions to enrich our understanding of what’s going on and what someone can do with a legal education. I am thankful that my class is supportive and that the 2Ls and 3Ls students seem genuinely interested in giving good advice and helping out the 1Ls, and new MELPs.

So, back to the books. But, before I go: Random funny story of the week.

Last night (around midnight) my roommate (a MELP) and I were on the couch in our living room reading and preparing for our Friday classes.

Two (cute) guys came to the door and knocked. My roommate said, “You gotta be kidding me, what the heck do they want?!”

I answered the door and they introduced themselves to us and told us they are 2L’s. They could see that we were studying frantically at midnight in our living room. They said they didn’t want to be rude or anything, but they gave us advice to go to bed and get some sleep. HAHA! They said that if we start out working our selves to death, we’ll never make it.

Well guys, thanks for the advice. I’m just glad that the weekend’s here so I can get some much needed rest 😉

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
