Skip navigation

Tunbridge World Fair

Reoccurrences are the stuff traditions are made of.  It is often incumbent upon those before us to transmit the ingredients of what was, before we got here.  Not much happens here, as the end to a localized popular saying of “what happens in SoRo stays in SoRo” suggests, but there are traditions here, too.  Some are made up to maintain spirit and fun in the community, others like the Tunbridge World Fair started 139 years ago.  If age is a guarantor, then the fair has indeed passed the test of time and guaranteed a space on the throne of VLS unofficial tradition among students.

I was constantly reminded by almost everyone that missing the fair would be a sorrow, so I attended to save myself from the corporal arms of tradition.  I am still wondering why it is called a world fair.  Sure, there is only one Tunbridge fair in the world, but how was this title conferred? Just for the sake of curiosity!

However, it was a fantastic fair and I certainly will be among those who compel next year’s 1Ls to attend.  Food lovers will get there food, animal lovers their weird animals, tractor lovers their engines, and those who like to fly in those swinging things that I can never get myself to ride.  I have a personal policy of not going any higher above sea level than I need to by artificial means.

One of the most exciting events for me was the pig race.  My friend and I bet on Snoop Hoggy Hog, that’s right, against Hamma Montana.  The pigs were generally exciting, but the commentator was significantly more exciting than an Olympic commentator.  One could hear her from five miles away!  The music was fabulous and the roasted corn was delicioso.  I am not an open door dancer, but I even had the courage to sway a bit.

In the end, I still couldn’t reconcile the “world” in the title, but the fair was definitely merry and entertaining.  And if you are looking at this blog thinking you want to come to VLS, then someone will tell you to go the 140th Tunbridge World Fair, coz such are the stuffs traditions are made of.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
