Skip navigation

Gaining a little perspective

So it’s beyond true that in the second year they work you to death. I’m exhausted. My planner is stock full of due dates and appointments. I can’t help but feel when I take time to do something non-law school related that there is always something I should be working on. And then the other day a friend shared this list with me and I gained a little perspective.  I think every law student should print it out and do their best to follow it. I know from now on, I’m going to.

20 Good Bits of Advice:

  1. Take a 20-30 minute walk every day. While you walk, smile. It’s the ultimate anti-depressant.
  2. Sit in silence for at least 15 minutes each day. Allow your thoughts to go wherever they go….
  3. Each morning complete this statement, “Today my purpose is to _______”.
  4. Eat more foods that grow on trees and plants -eat less food that is fabricated in factories.
  5. Drink plenty of water. Take vitamins and eat berries, fresh fish, broccoli, almonds & walnuts.
  6. Try to make at least three people smile each day. Give unexpected gifts of words or deeds.
  7. Don’t waste your precious energy on gossip, negative thoughts or things you cannot control.
  8. Life isn’t always fair, but it has its good features anyways.
  9. Don’t take yourself so seriously. Take it easy. Self-induced stress is in nobody’s interest.
  10. You don’t have to win every argument. Agree to disagree and move on.
  11. Make peace with your past so it won’t spoil the present or control your future.
  12. Don’t compare your life to others’. Envy is not a good emotion.
  13. No one is in charge of your happiness except you. Joy and peace are inner values.
  14. Frame every so-called crisis with these words: “In a few weeks, will this really matter?”.
  15. Forgive others for what they did or did not do, but you think they should have done.
  16. Pick up litter -it’s good exercise and makes everyone wonder what you’re up to.
  17. Arrive five minutes before you’re expected and and don’t rush away. Don’t over-schedule.
  18. Your friends and family members are life’s treasures. Appreciate the good in them.
  19. Each night complete this phrase -“I am thankful for ______ and I appreciate ____.”
  20. Share good ideas and positive thoughts. Live the way you want others to live.
Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
