Skip navigation

I love Vermont.

I love Vermont. For me, coming to Vermont Law School was also an important lifestyle decision. Living here for the past month and a half has certainly lived up to my expectations of how wonderful it would be here.

I considered going to a school smack in the middle of the city, but for lots of reasons, my husband and I decided that we didn’t want to live in a city any more. Although I grew up on a farm in South Dakota, I lived in Boston for almost 10 years before making the move to rural Vermont, so this was quite a change for me. And, even though I’m still 2,000 miles away from my family in the midwest, it feels just like home here!

I live in a 150 year-old farmhouse with a huge front porch, which we spend a lot of time relaxing on. At first, the fact that everyone waved when they drove by was just charming. Now, it’s just a fact of life. Also, we actually know our neighbors! Behind us are an old Vermont family with a dairy farm, which is just wonderful. Up the road, we have a friendly neighbor with lots of friendly barn cats who love to say hello when I’m out walking my dog. Further up the road, we have another dairy farm that has cows who come right up to the fence to greet you whenever you walk by their pasture.

What’s even more wonderful is that VLS has some beyond-amazing faculty members. It’s been a wonderful community to be a part of so far. My 1L classes are challenging, but I don’t feel overwhelmed. Mostly, I am just excited about the material and about living in Vermont, where everywhere you turn is a gorgeous vista to behold. It’s truly a great place to study.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
