Skip navigation

Don’t Ask Don’t Tell (and finals update)

“This will allow gay and lesbian Americans to be called … what they want to be called, which is Americans — not gays or lesbians — who want to serve our country,” Joe Lieberman I-CT said.

Dear America, it’s time. This silly back and forth is getting annoying. When we look back 50 years from now we’ll laugh about how crazy all this was. We will feel silly for dishonoring those soldiers who were so willing and able to serve our country proudly and to the fullest extent of their commitments. I don’t know about you, but I am so proud to be a US American. I love the people, I love the geography, I love the freedoms, and I love all the people who work every day in any capacity to make the country I love a better place for the people who live here, for the Earth, and for the people of the planet we live in. Sometimes I don’t always agree with the ends, but when someone’s means are to put their life to work for a better world, I say L’chaim. So, it shouldn’t be hard to see that I think our soldiers should be lauded, not prevented, from serving our country in the way that is best for them. Homophobic soldiers should not be lauded, aided, or institutionally protected from hatin’ on the gays. Word.

Ok, so in other news, I had a friend of mine change my Facebook password and not tell me in an effort to prevent myself from procrastinating during finals. I haven’t been on in what feels like an eternity, but I think it’s only been two weeks. haha. Importantly, it’s working. I seriously think I should ween myself off it and stop using it like I used to. Living in the real world vs. the virtual world is refreshing. But, in lieu of the book of faces, I NEEDED to make a blog about this. I am so amped over the potential repeal of DADT.

I just finished my Civ Pro final. When I was done I literally thought I was going to throw up. I really only started understanding Civ Pro recently within the last 3 weeks or so. I felt so unprepared and I already know I made some mistakes. So, I came home, cracked a beer and just cried. Sometimes in the world, life happens and you have to let go, live in the moment, and never forget that everyday is a great day to be alive.

There is a student who is older than me who was in a very serious car accident. I prayed for him and his family. Then I cried again because I realized that while I was freaking out about Civ Pro, when I probably got messed up by the same things everyone else did, this guys’ family is feeling so happy to have him alive. Today, truly is a good day to be alive.

I imagine if you are reading this, you are likely a student. I hope you don’t forget that if you are in school in this country, you are living like a God compared to some. There are people in this world who have many many many more challenges than you do. If you are one of those people who has many many many more challenges, never forget that you are loved. Things will get better. At least take my promise that I will always do the absolute most I can to make this world a better place.

In related news: Relating back to the first part of this post about DADT, I came to VLS to do the MELP and the environmental law, which I will not abandon, but I think I want to do enviro law after a shorter career in doing legal work for the queer community. I would feel so fulfilled by work for HRC or SLDN or The Task Force. My experience learning about law pertaining to the rights of the queer community and civil rights are really pulling me in that direction. Weird. I never would have predicted this. Also, I for sure know that these feelings are being fueled by the high degree of awesomeness of our GLBTQ Alliance group here on campus. Jayzus, what a blessing.

I know this post seems crazy and over-emotional, but you know what? High levels of stress and a complete lack of meaningful sleep will do crazy things to a human being….. wierd, I know.

Peace and Love to you and yours for the Holidays!

A’ight. Constitutional Law, Wanna Tango?

One Comment

  1. Posted December 18, 2010 at 12:16 am | Permalink

    ‘ello love,
    Seeing as I don’t have a phone, and you’ve banished facebook, and we’re always in our respective places of worship (read: study) and I never see you anymore, here I am. I needed my dose of kt.

    I like that you wanna use your legal weapons to fight for the queer community. I say go with that.

    Secondly, I’m sorry about your civ pro exam but I think that beer was prob the best remedy there is. way to be.

    Most importantly and this is probably the basis behind my entire endeavor to post on a blog in the first place, I absolutely love the use of the nearly overlooked “l’chaim” in your writing. I feel like I’ve manifested somewhere in your heart and that was the proof in the puddinnn’. Big smile by ladyjj with that!

    love you and can’t wait for exams to be over so I can see you and we can be real-life friends again ahahaha ❤


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
