Skip navigation

Vermont Supreme Court Visit

This past Wednesday, the Vermont Supreme Court held session at VLS. Most of my professor cancelled classes for the day, requesting students to attend the session instead. Although I missed the big case of the day involving wind turbines and NIMBYism (so big, apparently, that Dean Jefferson issued a statement the day before about potential protestors – did any actually show?), the cases I heard were still very interesting. Moreover, the Vermont Supreme Court’s visit provided an opportunity for students to see the legal process in action. In law school, it can be too easy to forget that the law exists practically everyday, and not just in textbooks or classrooms.

This was my first visit to a courtroom, tours of the Supreme Court in Washington aside. What I enjoyed the most watching and listening to the attorneys deliver their oral arguments. It made the task of giving my own oral argument next month seem slightly less daunting.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
