Skip navigation

The trouble wit…

The trouble with studying for the bar is the stagnation that is not only expected to occur, but should be considered a highlight of the process. Too bad for many of us, stagnation damnation is not our lot for the eight weeks of bar review.

I finally left my small town of South Royalton, Vermont for good. I’ll visit sure, but I am officially moved out. What this actually means is that for the past week, I have been playing Tetris with my stuff, carefully packing everything into boxes, and stressing about finding a foster home for my dog, and how much of my personal and “delicate” belongings I need to take with me in the tiny cab of my truck, and, and, and…Did I mention that I haven’t slept normal hours all summer? Last night was one of the absolute worst: I did not sleep at all.

After leaving Vermont, and yes, I did find a wonderful foster family for my dog at the last moment, I drove to a midway point: D.C. In DC, I absolutely crashed at my best friends dink-tiny apartment. I only get to see Isabelle every few months, and I don’t know when I’ll see her again, so I HAD to talk and chat and do as much friend time with her as I could, while I should be bar studying. Another benefit of stopping in DC was that I could visit the Israeli embassy to get a multi-entry visa. I’m moving there at the end of August for an internship (let me tell you how much work it is to move overseas – dog foster, cat foster, storing stuff, visa or extended visa if necessary, plane tickets, international cell phone plan, securing internship interests, prepare financial budget). I’m happy to say that I had all the proper documentation to receive my extended visa with no incident, but it was a few more hours without bar study. Additionally, although I say I crashed when I reached DC, what I mean is my body and mind were tired, my head was fuzzy, my eyes were red, BUT I still couldn’t sleep. After getting my visa, I had to take a nap.

I had originally planned to depart from DC after securing my visa from the Israeli embassy, but because I was so tired, that might have been a death sentence. Ergo, the necessary nap, but no bar study. After the nap was dinner time, and Isabelle was at an art class in Alexandria, so I met up with several of the wonderful rising VLS 3Ls who were interning in DC for the summer. I interned in DC last summer, loved it, and it was great to see people who I hadn’t seen since before the awful business of bar study. We had great spicy cajun food, following by tongue cooling FroYo, before I headed back to Isabelle’s for high hopes for a regular night’s rest.

Although I did get sleep that night, it wasn’t enough to counter bar study lecturers. BarBri allows you to download audio of the lectures, and my plan was to listen to these while I was driving. That proved mighty dangerous. Contracts lecture on the road = certain death. More lost hours.

Let’s just say, you may intend to put your life on hold and “just study” all summer of the bar exam, but this really is impossible. I’m sure some of my cohorts who are taking the bar in Vermont, and studied in Vermont, technically had more time than me.  Their lives might be in true stagnation. Mine? It was impossible. I couldn’t completely enjoy anything or make “just for fun” plans, but because of all the things I necessarily had to do before I leave for my internship, before I left for Vermont, and because stress over life is inevitable, especially with the added bar problem, I had to bend enough to go under the limbo stick, no matter how oppressively low that stick went.

I hope I carried enough of my bar books under the limbo bar with me. Gosh, my back really hurts.

 

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
