Skip navigation

First day in China!

After a long 24 hours, I am finally in China! The trip over wasn’t too bad, just very long and frustrating.  I was at least able to sleep a little on the flight from London to Beijing, but not nearly enough to count as a full night or even a good nap.  After some difficulties, I survived the taxi ride to the hotel.  It looks like its close to the office, but I will only be here for a few days.  I start work tomorrow, and hopefully then I will find out more about, oh, finding an apartment and exactly what I’ll be doing for the next three months! I still can’t believe this is happening/that I am actually here.  I applied to this position completely on a whim, and considering all the applications I sent out, I didn’t expect much from this one either.  Crazy to think that, even without any knowledge or experience with China, someone picked me out of however many people to come over here.

So far the air quality doesn’t seem too bad, though I haven’t spent much time outside. However, my allergies are going nuts, but I think that might be at least partially to blame on the dry dirty air on the 10 hour flight from London.  I started sneezing about 2 hours in, then fell asleep for a couple hours so no sneezing then, but woke up and sneeze all the way through “Finding Nemo” and “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1.” Oh, and all through the cab ride, which the driver found hilarious.  Even with his only english being “100″ (to tell me how much I would have to pay for my ride), its funny that you can still communicate with someone without any words, or even an alphabet in common.  Even telling the guy what the phone number for the hotel was was a challenge.  Twice he tried to call my cell phone number, but I kept shaking my head and point at myself.  After circling it with a pen, he finally got it and was able to call for directions. Then spent the next 30 minutes weaving in and out of 4 lanes (plus the breakdown lane) of traffic. Nice to see that Mass-holes aren’t the only ones who drive in the breakdown lane. :)

I’m still exhausted, so, even thought I probably shouldn’t, I’m going to take a nap.  I used to always have a hard time with jet lag when I would go places, until my friend Aniek in Holland forced me to stay awake allll day after I got there at 8am once.  She finally gave in and let me to go to bed around 8pm (I think, it might have even been 730), but imagine my surprise when I woke up the next day feeling great.  That works well for a 6 hour difference, but this 12 hour jump is new to me.  It would be one thing if it had been a straight 12 hour change, but the 6 hours in London, which is 5 hours ahead of the US but 7 hours behind Beijing, totally threw me off. Anyway, off to take a nap, and hopefully get this thing posted somewhere that people can read it! I’ll do my best to keep this up to date, but I know once I get into the swing of things at work it will get boring for everyone for me to write “so I woke up today, and went to work, then had dinner, then hung out, and that’s it.” But I will try to write about the big exciting things, which, for a little while, will be just about everything that happens to me here!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
