Skip navigation

Day 33

I always thought the weather people in the US were kind of bad, but they have NO clue whats up here in China. I love the Weather Channel, but they clearly don’t have anyone posted over here updating the weather. I woke up before my alarm due to a pigeon shuffling around on my window sill, but sounding like he was in my room. Freaked me out and woke me right up. I had time to kill before I had to get up, so I just laid in bed and got online and checked the weather. According to Weather Channel, there was a 90% chance of rain this morning. I woke up to sunny blue skies. And no clouds on the radar. I get it, weather can be hard to predict, but it seems like they’d be more accurate if they just had someone here to stick their head out the window.

I headed to work earlier than normal, mostly because I wasn’t sure how long it would take me to get there. I took the round about way, there’s a more direct way, but I wasn’t sure how to take it and didn’t want to get lost. I got to work and settled in, moving over to my boss’s desk since she’s gone for 3 weeks. I spent the morning researching for my project, and finding a lot of good stuff. It is so weird for me to wrap my head around China’s system of government… As a US lawyer, I think we take for granted certain things, like the Supreme Court having the ability to rule a law unconstitutional. The court here is below the government, meaning that what they say doesn’t matter much, or at least not as much as it does in the US. Its so crazy to think about how things in the US would be different if our Supreme Court couldn’t do what it can.

In the afternoon, I got an email from my boss about all the things I have to do, and looking at it all written out, it looks overwhelming. But in reality, its not that bad and I should easily be able to finish it all. It is cool to be working on things that will have an actual impact on the activities of Greenpeace, or at least help inform the other employees there that aren’t lawyers what is legal/not legal. At one point today, someone came to my desk asking for my boss, and I was like “uh, she’s gone for 3 weeks.” And she was like “ok I don’t know what to do… I want to renew this contract, but we never put anything about renewing it into the original.” I was like, “uh well I don’t really have the authority or anything to tell you what to do, so all  I can suggest is to get in touch with my boss.” She was worried because it seemed like she wanted/needed to get the contract renewed quickly, and that waiting on my boss wouldn’t be possible. I’m hoping thats the only “crisis” that someone comes to me with… as much as I wanted to be like, well I don’t see why you can’t just renegotiate a new contract or extend this one, I didn’t because I don’t want to be held responsible from someone drafting a bad contract (which, from what I understand, happens a lot).

I left the office around 6, and skipped the gym so I could figure out the direct way back to the apartment. Its actually really simple: I leave the office, walk down the street to the second big intersection, turn right, and walk all the way home. Super simple, but I had never been that far down the road past the office in that direction, so I wouldn’t have known which road to turn on if I had gone that way this morning. Turns out I walk right by the giant market (with the KFC) where I met the bus for my Great Wall tour last week. Definitely will be tempting to get mashed potatoes every day, but hopefully I can resist. There is, however, a French bakery next door to the KFC that I may not be able to resist as easily. I was heading home at rush hour today, so there were a zillion people, so I didn’t stop, but I will definitely have to make a pit stop there soon.

Now I’m back at the apartment, and I’m pretty sure I’m the only one here. Though I guess that shouldn’t be too surprising: when I left at 8:45 this morning, the other two girls were still in their pajamas, so it makes sense that they would be at work later than I am. I’m going to go make myself a sandwich and hang out and watch a movie! I should have known to download more movies before I left… I have 10 movies on my computer, and 3 of them are Christmas movies. I’m already getting kind of sick of the others, so I may have to break down and hit up iTunes for something new.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
